The Battle of the Mind

“All the great temptations appear first in the region of the mind and can be fought and conquered there. We have been given the power to close the door of the mind. We can lose this power through disuse or increase it by use, by the daily discipline of the inner man in things which seem small and by reliance upon the word of the Spirit of truth. It is God that worketh in you, both to will and to do of His good pleasure. It is as though He said, ‘Learn to live in your will, not in your feelings.”

-Amy Carmichael

“(For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;) Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; And having in a readiness to revenge all disobedience, when your obedience is fulfilled.” (II Cor. 10:4-6)

In the last week, I have been getting sick, weak, discouraged, confused, and losing my motivation to live. I was slowly dying. I have been really battling things in my mind about circumstances, desires, longings, and feelings of self worth. I realize more than ever that my thoughts can give life or slowly bring death. My thoughts determine who I am and what I will become.

And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” (Rom. 12:2)

Thoughts are powerful and God knows this and has given us instructions on how and what to think on to give us life.

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.” (Philippians 4:8-9)

With my wrong thinking came distrust in the God of Truth and Life that I claim to love. I started to realize that I was not trusting God to give me His best for my life. Feelings of guilt and shame came into my heart, not because what I wanted was not good but it was not what God wants for me or the timing was not right. Timing is important for things and sometimes we must wait for things to fit perfectly together for His purpose and His timing. Something good can become bad and destructive if it’s not in the right time or situation.

I choose life. What about you? =)

May God help us guard our mind and hearts in the truth of His Word and what He thinks about us, our situation, and life. He will set us free. Lets trust Him and let His thoughts be our thoughts and He will change us and live through us for His glory.

-Noeli Weinert

Leave a Reply

