A Cry for Understanding!!!!


Psalm 119:33-40

Teach me, O Lord, the way of Thy statutes; and I shall keep it unto the end.

Give me understanding, and I shall keep Thy law; yea, I shall observe it with my whole heart.

Make me to go in the path of Thy commandments; for therein do I delight.

Incline my heart unto Thy testimonies, and not to covetousness (an inordinate desire for wealth or possessions or for another’s possessions).

Turn away mine eyes from beholding vanity (an often unjustified feeling of being pleased with oneself or with ones situation or achievements);and quicken Thou me in Thy way.

Stablish (to make firm or stable)Thy word unto Thy servant, who is devoted to Thy fear.

Turn away my reproach(the act or action of reproaching or disapproving) which I fear: For Thy judgments are good.

Behold, I have longed after Thy precepts: quicken me in Thy righteousness.”

Oh! How these words of the Psalmist are so important for us to claim as our own! Notice how he says to the Lord, “teach me”, “give me”, “make me”, “incline my heart”, and “stablish Thy word”. If he had to ask God in so many different forms and ways to make his ways God’s ways, how much more should we do the same? Also, if the men and women in the Bible went directly to God and learned from Him, primarily, why should we do differently?

When Jesus was here on earth, He was not apart of any denomination, or group, nor were His disciples. They were simply all alone, making their way through this world, and doing the will of the Father, which is sharing the gospel and making disciples of Jesus Christ. We need to be occupied doing the same. We need to be like Jesus in making our ways God’s ways by the grace that is in us through Jesus Christ. It is dangerous to depend, primarily, on people or groups of people. Religious people, like people in general, have a natural tendency to routinely mix what God says with what they think (from a sinful heart and nature). For example, right now you may be debating these statements in your mind and heart. Examine your arguments with these simple questions to yourself. “Are my arguments purely, exactly, and totally arguments that God gives in the teaching of the Bible against these statements, or do my arguments have my own thoughts in them? Are my arguments purely God’s thoughts, purely my thoughts, or a mixture of the two?” We can only rely entirely and totally upon the Holy Spirit of God as our teacher together with a literal, verbal and contextual interpretation of God’s Word. We should never rely on our own thoughts or mix ours with God’s, which constitutes a departure from God’s pure truth to false truth. The Bible calls this apostasy.

I know by personal experience that it is a lot easer to be a part of and except a theology of a certain group or denomination but if I want to be like Jesus, I must not be influenced and confused by these groups, but rather focus on being like Jesus, letting God make His ways, my ways.

Are you willing to do the same thing and risk being rejected or misunderstood by other people because you simply want to be different like Jesus?

Dear Lord,

I cry out for your understanding. My human understanding and wisdom is not enough to make me like Jesus (I Cor.1:20; 3:19; Prv.23:4b). I need your wisdom and understanding (I Cor.2:5; Prv. 4:7). Make my ways your ways! Form Christ in me. May not I live but Christ live in me (Gal. 2:20). Give me the hunger to read and meditate on your Word day and night (Psalm 1:1-3; Joshua 1:8) so that I may not me contaminated by false teachings and philosophies. Thank you Lord for your grace so that I may live a victorious life in Jesus Christ.

To God only wise, be glory through Jesus Christ forever. Amen.”

(Rom. 16:27)

Leave a Reply

