Having a heart after God’s own heart

My greatest desire is to have a heart after God’s own heart! As I studied in I&II Samuel this week, I

saw that God calls David a man after His own heart. What does it mean to have a heart after God’s own

heart? How can I attain it?

I think the best definition that describes what it means to have a heart after God’s own heart is

“having our desires, our motives, our goals, our values and our priorities line up with God’s. It means

loving what He loves, hating what He hates, and looking at life as He looks at life. It is having His

biblical world view of things in our minds and His love or righteousness and hate of sin in our hearts.

You may see it differently, but I’ll stick with that definition because, in effect, it means being like Jesus.

That is God’s ultimate goal for all of us – to be more Christ-like.”

In scripture, I see David’s obedience in small things, his good character, his humility, his courage,

his dependence on God, his desire to stay in the house of the Lord, his diligence, his boldness, his

delight in God, his faith, and he had God’s wisdom. David had so many qualities but yet he was not

sinless. He made some bad choices as well. Many times he depended on his own, human, logical

thinking, instead of depending on God’s direction and wisdom. But even though he made many

mistakes and sins, he would asked forgiveness and repent (changed his mind, changed directions) of his

sin to God. I believe David sincerely loved the Lord and desired to do His will not his own. I see in the

Psalms 43:5 that David speaks to his fears and tells his heart to trust in God. In Psalm 62:5-7 I see how

he know that God was his protection and that without God he was nothing.

After observing all these things, I am reminded that daily I must fully surrender my will to God.

My prayer has been, “Lord, make me do thy will and not my own. Use me to show and point others to

Christ. Make me depend on You at every moment. Guide and direct my paths. Keep me from turning

my eyes off of Thee. Teach me how to love You with all my heart, soul, and mind and others as myself.

Teach me how to be more like you. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit and all it’s wonderful fruit. Give me

boldness to stand up for what is right no matter what may happen to me. Send me wherever you want

me to go and give me the strength to remain faithful to You and to others. My life is not my own but

Yours to use as you see fit. Don’t let me rely on my own wisdom which is limited and imperfect. Give

me Your wisdom that is perfect. For “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ

liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith of the Son of God, who loved me,

and gave Himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

We can all have “a heart after God’s own heart” if we simply deny ourselves, take up our cross, and

follow Jesus. Lord, do whatever it takes in my life to make me into the godly woman you want me to

be and that I desire to be. Stretch me, bend me, break me and do whatever it will take for me to be thy

good and faithful servant. May God increase and I decrees everyday!



Leave a Reply

